//
you're reading...
Weekend Wave Wraps

Weekend Wave Wrap: Ankle biters

photo

Not many waves on offer all weekend. There was a small spark of hope on Saturday. Some 2ft + sets were rolling in in the morning. I surfed Bondi, not the best of banks we’ve seen lately but I was just happy to see some sets that were bigger than the ankle biters of late. I was hoping it would get bigger than that. Little did I know then that this was it again. The “peak” of the swell was in fact the night before and the wave size was going downhill from thereafter. We should not complain in the Eastern Suburbs though. In the afternoon I was at the Northern Beaches which was even smaller than Bondi & Co.

On Sunday, the steep decline in wave size continued and we were back in ankle biter territory. Ok, you could still surf it. A longboard or even a fish would do the trick. I went on strike though. I WANT PROPER WAVES. Maybe missing out on this year’s Indo season is getting to me. I need a proper wave fix. I refuse to believe that the winter swells are gonskies and we have to set in already for the weak summer swells minus warm water. You know it’s one thing to squeeze yourself into a wettie to surf when it’s pumping. It’s also ok to squeeze yourself into a wettie for the odd smaller day to chill out on the longboard. But I’m finding it hard to persuade myself to get into the 16 degree water for barely there waves every single day. I might regret saying this but I almost wish for a big fat storm (yes, I’m even accepting some rain) to get some waves in return.

I better don’t hold my breath for the big fat storm and big fat waves though. This week’s surf report is flatlining at 2ft. It looks like tomorrow morning Tuesday is the biggest of all days. I think it might be a Kermit and Bruce week…and maybe not too bad to have small waves. At least I get lots of work done. And watch out gidgets, Venus Goes Gidget is coming out with a new look soon. Very excited to be launching a brand new logo and site soon. Whoop whoop – Venus Goes Gidget is growing up.

See you out there gidgets. Have a good week!

x

Clauds

 

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment