//
you're reading...
Weekend Wave Wraps

Weekend Wave Wrap: Out of sync

There was good surf all weekend. That’s what I hear anyway. It was one of these weekends where I happened to be either at the wrong place or at the right place at the wrong time when it came to the choice of surf sessions.

Saturday, I got up at 6.30 to make it up North pre-high tide. We’ve checked a few spots and it was not as big as we expected.  Bungan looked good though from up the hill. Glassy and 2-3ft. It’s never a good sign though when you are about to get changed to get into the water and there is a mass exodus from the water. We’ve asked some of the guys who came out of the water and comments ranged from ‘fun, get out there’ to ‘oh a bit full now’ and ‘a bit small’. We did end up hopping in there anyway and yes it was ok but not the type of surf I would get up for at 6.30 on a Saturday morning if anyone had told me beforehand what it’s going to be like. We were simply too late. The high tide did not do the spot any favours at all…we should have been there earlier. My bad timing did extend beyond surfing. We were even too late for brekkie. We could not decide where to have brekkie at. By the time we did, they’ve changed over to lunch. Oh and did I mention, we missed the finale in Dee Why in the Layne Beachley Classic while we were trying to find brekkie.

Whilst I was up North, Maroubra, Tama and Bronte were apparently really quite good. Of course…

Sunday, I wish I would have stayed in bed altogether. I did not feel great (don’t feel sorry, it was all self-inflicted, I accidentally had maybe one drink too much at a friend’s bday party the night before). We checked Tama and Bronte and Tamarama looked great. 4ft + and super clean and not even crowded. But it looked like hard work. I thought it would be irresponsible to jump in pretty heavy surf when I was not 100% fit. I did not want to end up on Bondi Rescue either. So we thought Bondi would do. It was much smaller than Tama but seemed safer at the time. Hm not sure about that one though considering how busy it was…I had 3 waves in 45 minutes. Crap waves and then I was over it. It was definitely not my best surf weekend.

That’s ok. Happens. There will be waves all week. Whoop whoop. Surely, I’ll make up for the crap weekend sessions at one point.

 

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment